FIFA World Cup 2022 Golden Ball Winner Lionel Messi, First Player to Win It Twice

The FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is awarded to the tournament’s finest player, and after scoring 7 goals and contributing to 3 others in Qatar in 2022, there was little debate as to who would receive the distinction. Lionel Messi, the captain of Argentina, took home the Golden Ball and made tournament history by becoming the first player to win it twice. When the Albiceleste lost to Germany in the World Cup final in 2014, Messi was once again named the game’s top performer.

The Blue and White Machine of Argentina, however, was unstoppable on Sunday night as goals from Messi and Angel Di Maria in the first half handed them the advantage over the reigning champions France. The game appeared to be decided in 90 minutes, but Kylian Mbappe, the national idol of France, scored twice to force extra time.

Messi once more scored for Argentina, but Mbappe became just the second player in history to score a hat-trick in a World Cup final, forcing penalties. Goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez showed his composure to make a critical save, which helped Argentina win in the end.

After an unexpected setback to Saudi Arabia to open the tournament, Argentina rallied and put up amazing performances one after the other to eventually capture their third World Cup trophy, 36 years after the iconic Diego Maradona had guided them to their second championship.

Full List Of Golden Ball Winners

2022     Lionel Messi (Argentina)

2018     Luka Modric (Croatia)

2014     Lionel Messi (Argentina)

2010    Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

2006    Zinedine Zidane (France)

2002    Oliver Kahn (Germany)

1998    Ronaldo (Brazil)

1994    Romario (Brazil)

1990    Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)

1986    Diego Maradona (Argentina)

1982    Paolo Rossi (Italy)

Leave a Comment